Center for Fiction announces longlist for first novel prize

Reblogging this from Read Her Like an Open Book. Great list of books nominated for their longlist – the Centre for Fiction’s Prize in New York.


The Center for Fiction in New York City today announced the longlist of nominees for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. Seventeen of the 26 nominees were written by female authors, reflecting their dominance in the area of literary fiction in recent years, especially 2013-2014. The author of the winning book will receive $10,000 and each shortlisted author will receive $1,000. The 2014 Short List will be announced in September and the winner will be announced on December 9 at The Center for Fiction’s Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner at the New York Athletic Club. Recent winners include Margaret Wrinkle in 2013 for Wash, Ben Fountain in 2012 for Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk, Bonnie Nadzam in 2011 for Lamb, and Karl Marlantes in 2010 for Matterhorn.

The Center for Fiction, founded in 1820 as the Mercantile Library, is the only organization in the United States devoted…

View original post 349 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.