Book Review: Helen Pryke – The Lost Girls #psychological #thriller #book #review

Goodreads Synopsis:

Now he wants them back.

Four years ago, two teenage girls were abducted.

Four years ago, a ten-year-old boy was murdered.

Both cases remain unsolved.

Desperate to find their missing sisters, Michael and Chloe ask investigative journalist Maggie Turner to help them. And what starts as a simple investigation, soon turns into a frantic race against time.

The kidnapper took the girls to replace his sisters; sisters who died seventeen years earlier.

Forced to face traumatic events from the past, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a nightmare that can only get worse…

Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, The Lost Girls is the first novel in the Maggie Turner series. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer and Helen Fields. 

My review

This is the first book I’ve read from Helen Pryke and I am impressed. A confident, engaging psychological thriller that kept me turning the pages wanting to discover what happens next.

The strengths of the story lie in its excellent characters: particularly Maggie the investigative journalist who seeks to discover who abducted the two young girls.

What surprised me most in The Lost Girls was an unexpected feeling of sympathy for the deranged person who abducted these two young girls. As the story progresses I became more aware that this thriller should be praised for its handling of mental health issues. It’s superb in that respect. The ending was fantastic, and makes me keen to read more. This is the first in this series.

This novel is for you if you enjoy psychological thrillers with a dark edge to them. Please be aware that there are distressing themes in this novel: abduction, sexual assault of a minor, and scenes of violence. These are written in such a way as not to prolong, or be too graphic. So, considerable praise to the author for handling these difficult passages in such a sensitive way.

A difficult one to rate, I’ve been mulling over the rating for a few days.

Overall, an excellent psychological thriller: 4.5 stars, highly recommended.

Looking forward to reading more from Helen Pryke.

I am really enjoying reading thrillers at the moment!

AUTHOR SOCIAL MEDIA DETAILS

Authors Website:https://mjmallon.com
Authors Amazon Pagehttps://www.amazon.co.uk/M-J-Mallon/e/B074CGNK4L
Twitter: @Marjorie_Mallon

#ABRSC – Authors Bloggers Rainbow Support Club on Facebook:
Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17064826.M_J_Mallon

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/m-j-mallon 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mjmallonauthor/

Sharing Options:

Published by

Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog: M J Mallon - Kyrosmagica Publishing. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a debut writer, my first YA fantasy novel The Curse of Time - Book 1 - Bloodstone is set in Cambridge. I write book reviews on my blog and on Goodreads. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Helen Pryke – The Lost Girls #psychological #thriller #book #review”

  1. This is a compelling review, Marje. I am a new reader to this genre and have great admiration for those who write in it well. I like your comment about the reader having sympathy for the abductor!

Leave a Reply